Ohio's Early Learning and Development Standards

Ohio's Early Learning and Development Standards (ELDS) describe key concepts and skills that young children develop during the birth-to-five-year period. Their purpose is to support the development and well-being of young children and to foster their learning in five essential domains of school readiness. These five domains are:

  • Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Well-being and Motor Development
  • Approaches Toward Learning
  • Language and Literacy Development
  • Cognition and General Knowledge

The standards are organized according to strands, meaning the developmental or conceptual components within each domain. Each strand contains one or more topics, areas of focus within each strand, and standard statements.

Standard statements describe those concepts and skills that typically developing children should know and be able to do. Standard statements are provided for Infants (birth - 8 months), Young Toddlers (6 - 18 months), Older Toddlers (16 - 36 months), and Pre-Kindergarten (3 - 5 years). The ELDS were finalized by the Ohio Department of Education in October 2012 and first implemented in the 2013-2014 school year. Learn more about the ELDS, how they are organized, and the five domains (link opens PDF file).

Public librarians are encouraged to learn about the five domains and become familiar with the ELDS. Library practices, including storytimes, displays, early literacy education, and librarian interactions with young children, support the standards across all five domains. Download and read the complete set of ELDS. They are brief and do not take long to read! When you know the language of the ELDS, you are well-equipped to share with early childhood educators how your library activities and resources support and reinforce their standards.

Ohio Library Council                    State Library of Ohio